Canadian Skilled Worker Visa

The Canadian Skilled Worker Program allows skilled migrants to become permanent residents. It is the largest stream of immigration coming to Canada. Successful applicants obtain permanent residence status. Requirements in this category are that candidates must have a minimum of one (1) year of full-time work experience in an occupation, which appears on Canada’s National Occupations List as a skilled worker or manager, after having completed their formal education/training.

Canada is looking for skilled migrants with transferable skills, particularly migrants with experience and training in their respective fields as well as proficiency in English and/or French seeking to establish a new life. You do not require a job offer to apply for this Visa. A points-based assessment is used to assess applicants under this program. All applicants must meet or exceed 67 points (out of 100) to pass, which is based on the following:

  • Education (PhD/Master’s, Bachelor’s, or Trade/Non-University certificate/diploma)
  • Work Experience (1 – 4 years of work experience)
  • Language Skills (Speaking, Listening, Reading, and Writing in English and French)
  • Age (21 to 49 gets the maximum points)
  • Adaptability (education and/or employment in Canada, having a relative in Canada, spouse/common-law partner’s education level)
  • Arranged Employment in Canada (HRSDC confirmed, NAFTA/CCFTA, GATS, postgraduate work in Canada, or Arranged Employment Opinion)

The selection standards are designed to be objective and clearly defined to allow officers to assess eligibility through the information provided on the application and supporting documentation. As such, in the majority of cases, an interview is not required.


Currently, all provinces in Canada offer skilled worker programs. Many of them differ greatly from one another, and are dependent upon labour market conditions in each province. In all cases, the Federal Government has the final say over these applicants, which may be refused due to medical conditions, criminality, or security of the principal applicant or a family member. In addition, the Federal Government has the right to refuse applicants who they believe will not land and settle in the Province that has selected them.

  • Alberta
  • British Columbia
  • Manitoba
  • New Brunswick
  • Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Nova Scotia
  • Ontario
  • Prince Edward Island
  • Quebec
  • Saskatchewan
Add Your Comment