Family Category



family category visaThe Family category visa of immigration is aimed at bringing families together. There are effectively two different types of family programs; those offered by the Federal and Quebec Governments, and those offered under Provincial Nominee Programs by the governments of Saskatchewan and Manitoba.


Family Category is aimed at bringing families together. The program supports:

  • Spouse, common-law partner, conjugal partner
  • Dependent children
  • Your father, mother, grandfather, or grandmother
  • Your orphaned brother, sister, nephew, niece, grandson, or granddaughter, who is under the age of 18, and not married or in a common-law relationship
  • A child you plan to adopt (international adoption)

To be able to Sponsor a family member, the sponsoring individual must:

  • Be a Canadian citizen or Canadian permanent resident visa,
  • Must demonstrate the financial ability to provide the Family Sponsorship Immigrant and dependents with their essential needs (should they be unable to provide for themselves,
  • Enter into an agreement with the Government of Canada, whereby he or she agrees to provide the essential needs for a prescribed period of time; Physical residency in Canada; or
  • For Canadian citizens sponsoring a spouse, common-law partner, conjugal partner, or dependent child, a demonstrated intention to reside in Canada by the time the Sponsored family member lands in Canada as a permanent resident.
  • Be at least 18 years old; not in prison; not bankrupt; not under a removal order if a permanent resident, and not charged with a serious offense.


The following provinces currently offer Family Category Immigration Programs:

Add Your Comment